The Road to Publication

15 May

Today, I am going to update on our agent search and the revisions to “The Adventures of Green Bean,” but first I want to encourage everyone to check out Kevin’s artwork for Mother’s Day.  It is fantastic!

Since my last post, I have not received any more rejections.  We have three rejections and seven agents we are waiting to hear back from.  Most agents say that they will get back to writers within six to eight weeks.  We are just hitting six weeks, so hopefully our queries will be answered soon.

As for revisions, I was lucky enough to meet Amanda at the Missouri Writer’s Guild Conference in April and she has agreed to critique my work, including “The Adventures of Green Bean.” This will be especially helpful because Amanda also writes for children.  I am excited to have the post-conference revisions critiqued.  Once I get the revisions back from her, I will review them with Kevin and we will consider changes to the story.

I plan to send out another ten queries once the manuscript is revised.  At the conference, I got some tips from other writers about query writing, so I will also be updating my query letter.  I am now really understanding what people mean when they say the “road to publication”!  This has truly been an eye opening journey.  Thank you for joining us on the ride!

Leave a Reply

